The race is on for highly sought-after CHRO of the Year Award


With just hours to go before the prestigious CHRO Awards ceremony, the question remains – who will be named the 2023 CHRO of the Year?

Established half a decade ago, the CHRO Awards have consistently represented the pinnacle of HR excellence. As the countdown to the annual CHRO Awards enters its final hours, the question looms: Who will emerge victorious, claiming the esteemed title of CHRO of the Year?

The CHRO of the Year is described as an individual who has shown leadership and outstanding performance over a number of years. He or she is very involved with the strategy of the company and is a true business partner. The CHRO of the Year has been the driving force behind growth and profitability and sets the benchmark for excellence in the HR profession. The CHRO of the Year is leading by example and has outperformed all others based on skills, attitude and results.

Notable past winners include Paul Norman, the inaugural recipient in 2019 from MTN Group. Paul has been the top HR leader within the organisation since he joined the company in 1997 and has been involved in the recruitment of more than 100 CEOs. Paul is also a CHRO Award judge.

In 2020, Tswelo Kodisang scooped the award for his role as group chief people officer at Discovery. Tswelo scooped three of the eight accolades awarded on the night, also winning the Strategy & Leadership Award, and the HR & Technology Award.

Tswelo is currently the group chief people officer for the FirstRand Group and also sits on the judging panel for the CHRO Awards.

“Accolades are not for one moment of work and impact, they are the result of years of practice, learning, unlearning, making mistakes, bouncing back and making an impact. With recognition like CHRO of the Year, it shows that you are on the right track and highlights others who have contributed to your journey,” says Tswelo.

Dieter Veldsman was named the CHRO of the Year Award for 2021. He was recognised for his work as CHRO of Momentum Metropolitan, which he held until taking on the role of HR thought leader and domain expert at the Academy to Innovate HR in Rotterdam in September 2021. Dieter also took home the HR & Technology Award and the Strategy & Leadership Award.

Last year, Vodacom SA HR executive director Njabulo Mashigo was the biggest winner, taking home the CHRO of the Year Award, Transformation & Empowerment Award and the HR & Technology Award.

At the time of receiving the awards Njabulo said the accolades are a reflection of the two decades of her career. “Winning the CHRO Award means a lot to me – it means that I’m seen as an excellent professional. I think hopefully it will encourage one to actually uphold the standards and really that is what we’re striving for as a fraternity.”

The spotlight is now on the 2023 contenders - who will rise victorious? Stay tuned to our social media channels, CHRO South Africa on LinkedIn and CHRO South Africa on Facebook, for the official winners' announcement and explore the full list of nominees here,


Related articles